Break the Dairy Habit

Break the Dairy Habit | Vegetarian Society of Tulsa Are you struggling to break the dairy habit? Here are some tips and alternatives to help make the transition easier.

A few things to consider:

  • Humans are the only animal that drinks milk, into adulthood, from another species.
  • The milk from mammas contains an opiate-like substance called “casomorphin”. The casomorphin level in cows is 10 times greater than that in humans.
  • Several hormonal related cancers (breast, ovarian, and prostate) have been linked to the consumption of dairy products.
  • On average, to takes 10 parts of milk to make 1 part cheese.
  • Some dairy cheeses are NOT vegetarian – they contain rennin, which is the enzyme fro the stomach lining of slaughtered livestock.

Taking dairy out of your diet may seem like an intimidating challenge, but there are plenty of alternatives that can help make the transition much smoother and break the dairy habit.

A few suggestions for substitutions:

  • Milk – The options for milk alternatives are numerous:
    Cashew, Almond, Soy, Rice, Oat, Coconut, Flax, Hemp
    Different brands have their own unique tastes, textures and health benefits. Enjoy experimenting to find which one(s) you like best.
  • Butter – Earth Balance seems to be the favorite choice among most Vegans but plant-based alternatives have come a long way and there are quite a bit of options to choose from now.
    Miyoko’s European Style Cultured Vegan Butter, and Flora Plant Butter are also well-known, tried and true options.
  • Cream Cheese – Tofutti & Follow Your Heart; Cashew Cream Cheese by Treeline
  • Sour Cream – Tofutti
  • Yogurt – So Delicious & Silk
  • Cheese – Daiya, Follow Your Heart, Kite Hill, Chao (by Field Roast)
  • Ice Cream – There are many different options in this category – So Delicious (cashew-based), Ben & Jerry’s, Haagen Dazs, Oatly
  • Whipped Cream – Reddi-Whip, Soyatoo
  • Cheese Spread – Just about any brand of hummus, Treeline

**NOTE – It is very important to read the label if you are unsure as to whether the product contains dairy or not. “Lactose-free” does not mean dairy-free. Casin and whey are derived from dairy products.

share this post:


Still hungry? Here’s more